I am a social media geek. There are so many people who think they know social media, but this post by my friend Eric Tung is amazing.

Eric T. Tung

The Story

Late last year, I saw an opening on LinkedIn for the first Social Media Director at the University of Michigan. As my wife was originally from Michigan, I submitted a 10-page application with a two-page resume, cover letter, professional biography, and a 30-60-90 day business plan. I even placed Facebook and Google ads aimed at Communications Department staff at The University, which my wife said was complete overkill. Only last week did I hear back that the position had been filled – I never got called for an interview, and I found out why: because I was up against the likes of Lindsay Blackwell.

Last month, I was searching to see if the position had been filled and came upon http://www.dearlisarudgers.com/ – a website conceived, developed, and designed by Lindsay Blackwell and directed solely at Lisa Rudgers, the Vice President for Global Communications and Strategic Initiatives at University…

View original post 1,353 more words

Tagged:

One thought on “

  1. Eric T. Tung March 20, 2012 at 3:01 pm Reply

    Thanks for sharing – it truly is a great story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

